Where is My Mind?

March 27, 2015

Where is my Mind these days?  I honestly couldn’t tell you.  Sometimes it’s hanging in there pretty well and other times….well you can imagine.  I remembered this song, and there are two versions of it: the Pixies and Sunday Girl.  The first is more conducive to say screaming your head off and hacking at a wall of jungle & the second is quite beautiful.  

I found the Pixies version edited with Fight Club images and it reminds me of Tyler and myself in college when we were obsessed with that movie. Okay… who am I kidding #1 is Tyler’s version.  Life seemed so raw and emotional back then, almost fifteen years ago.  Since we’ve grown together, it seems like we did in fact settle down and become more tamed, responsible and reliant on routines.  This experience has changed us forever, and perhaps thrown us back into the most raw emotion we’ve ever yet experienced of love and anger.  We don’t have “the luxury” of indulging in our darkest emotions the way we might’ve back in those days because there is so much more that we have now.  We have two of the happiest and most uplifting children that we want to love and protect and we are aware of the love and support that we feel from our family and friends.

#1: for Tyler (Fight Club ferocity) – best played LOUD! https://www.youtube.com/embed/ufERJEdcfAY?autoplay=1

#2: for Me (I never heard this version until the other day when it played on my episode of the Good Wife)

https://www.youtube.com/embed/m–lZP1c28g?autoplay=1

“Where is My Mind”
Oh – stop
With your feet on the air and your head on the ground
Try this trick and spin it, yeah
Your head will collapse
But there’s nothing in it
And you’ll ask yourself
Where is my mind? [3x]
Way out in the water
See it swimmin’
I was swimmin’ in the Caribbean
Animals were hiding behind the rocks
Except the little fish
But they told me, he swears
Tryin’ to talk to me, to me, to me.
Where is my mind? [3x]
Way out in the water
See it swimmin’
With your feet on the air and your head on the ground
Try this trick and spin it, yeah
Your head will collapse
If there’s nothing in it
And you’ll ask yourself
Where is my mind? [3x]
Way out in the water
See it swimmin’
Oh
With your feet on the air and your head on the ground
Oh
Try this trick and spin it, oh oh
 

 

Leave a Reply

